2013 Recognition from the 2013 Social Utility Award
2012 Newly Revised Service Upgrade
2011 Yields Steady Progress in Building Civic Community
2010 Obtaining International Recognition -A bumper year for expanding new services
2009 Protecting Communities through the Lens
2008 Voicing Out and Building Bridges
2007 The Rise of New Mass Movements in Turbulent Times


Obtaining International Recognition
Citizen journalism, public service broadcasting and crisis reporting in Taiwan
Citizen journalism and trust in Taiwan
BBC World News Ex-director Phil Harding Visited Taiwan
Catching Spotlight at International Press Institute's World Congress 2011
   

Voicing Out and Building Bridges

Encouraging public access to the media has always been a core value at PTS, and in April 2007 we implemented this concept through People Post (PeoPo) – Taiwan Citizen Journalism Platform (www.peopo.org). Great numbers of Taiwanese citizens and various independent groups have been making good use of PeoPo’s ultra-friendly and innovative Web2.0 platform, ensuring a vast cross spectrum of media content.

Giving the power and control back to the people has encouraged them to voice out on important environmental and topical issues, creating a platform of multi-faceted debate and discussion in Taiwan's civil society.

Taiwan Citizen Journalism Platform has already attracted over 2,357 citizen journalists, including 130 NGO / NPO / EDU organizations, and accumulated over 20,455 topical news reports, 7,850 of which include a video report. Ever since the service was launched, the platform has attracted a monthly average of 270 thousand hits, which browse over an average of 179 thousand pages.

In 2008, as the content of Taiwan Citizen Journalism Platform began showing more maturity, there began a flood of interest and attention – as well as actual usage - from domestic and foreign media organizations. TBS news channel, for example, has cumulatively made use of more than 256 PeoPo news reports. Moreover, after domestic associations, such as ‘Civil Media’, ‘Community Empowerment Society’, and community colleges recognized the concept of PeoPo’s news platform, they began to take the initiative in circulating news stories to develop grassroots media, and the power of civil society.

PeoPo has deepened the development of Taiwan's democratic society through activities such as the 2008 Presidential Election TV Debate, which was jointly organized by PTS, CNA, Apple Daily, Liberty Times, China Times, and United Daily News. Citizens were asked to upload their questions onto the PeoPo platform, after which some citizens were invited to attend the actual candidates' televised debate; a big step forward in direct democracy in Taiwan.

In this election, citizens no longer just passively voted, but actively voiced out, demanding candidates respond to the aspirations of the people. Citizens used cameras, video cameras and mobile phones to shoot a question of 30 seconds or less and upload it onto the PeoPo platform, directly asking the candidates about their viewpoint on ruling the country.

A total of 456 questions were uploaded onto the platform, from which 20 were selected for submission. On the day before the debate, these 20 citizens were coached in questioning skills and timing, while at the same time familiarizing themselves with studio broadcasting operations.

This gave citizens the rare opportunity of obtaining a direct response from a presidential candidate! Allowing citizens to upload video questions, has not only brought Taiwan into the international arena, but also made a real breakthrough in presidential TV election debates. Inviting citizens to submit online video questions to candidates has opened up endless possibilities for the future of airing public opinion in Taiwan.

In addition to providing a network platform, PeoPo also offers many real activities and services. In April 2008, the PeoPo Citizen Journalism Forum was held and in July of the same year a gathering of citizen journalists was organized. During that summer, citizen journalism training camps were held in Taiwan's northern, central, southern, and eastern areas. Following on from this, a total of 10 universities established a Citizen Journalist Press Centre. From the establishment of these centers it was hoped that students would be encouraged to show greater concern for the community when off campus, report on local issues, and help integrate people from all parts of Taiwan.

Of course in order to equip students with the ability to begin sharing regional points of view and airing grassroots opinions, they received professional journalism courses and training. In December, PeoPo collaborated with ‘The Foundation for Excellent Journalism Award’ to raise ‘PeoPo Citizen Journalism Awards’, encouraging citizen journalists on the outstanding reports of 2008. These awards were also an pportunity for PeoPo to give some important feedback to Taiwan's civil society.

Perhaps even more important than providing technology and equipment, the PTS PeoPo platform also provides citizen journalists the opportunity to learn through emulation and observation. Through the promotion of over 183 educational training courses and face-to-face teaching, PTS has endeavored to unleash the independent thinking and creative freedom of Taiwanese citizens. We strongly believe that combining PTS’s human resources and media experience with community organizations is one of public television’s most important services to civil society.

PeoPo is a new phenomenon in Taiwan’s public media that focuses entirely on citizen journalism. Internationally speaking, such examples are rarely seen, and Taiwan’s PeoPo platform has become a much enquired about area from international media organizations. For example, at the annual meetings of Commonwealth Broadcasting Association (CBA), PBI, UNESCO, Japan's NHK, IIC International Radio and Television Organization, PTS was invited to attend and share its experience of PeoPo’s citizen journalism platform.

Subsequent to PTS general manager’s attendance at PBI (Public Broadcasters International) Conference in France, the French newspaper La Province reported on PeoPo’s development of citizen journalism, spreading the platform’s international reputation. At the end of 2008, PeoPo was one of the finalists at NHK’s Japan Prize for educational media, and in the same year took first prize in Taiwan’s ‘The Non-profit Organizations Interactive Network Award’, a fine result for all the hard work from citizen journalists.

PeoPo is a milestone in the development of public television, and also one of its core services. In comparison to television program production, PeoPo is allocated only fraction of the funding, but has clearly proved to be a service of infinitely greater value to the public. Everyone involved has great expectations that PeoPo can become the foremost example of Chinese-language citizen journalism, a rich source of grassroots citizen news, and a benchmark for the development of international citizen journalism emulated by all. The realization of this common vision can only be achieved through our continued collaboration and unwavering effort.

2016
成立自律委員會
2015
深化公民報導議題
2014
強化社群媒體串聯
2013
獲得社會公器獎肯定
2012
全新改版 服務升級
2011
穩健發展 打造公民社群
2010
獲國際肯定 擴大新服務
2009
用鏡頭守護家園
2008
向外發聲 地方紮根
2007
風起雲湧的新群眾運動
   
國外的肯定
台灣的公民新聞、公共服務廣電(PSB)以及危機報導
英媒Public Media Alliance專題介紹PeoPo
前英國BBC全球新聞總監 高度讚許
國際新聞協會年會-PeoPo受矚目
平台定位
帳號申請/社群共治
使用元素/網頁介紹
   
延伸閱讀

鼓勵「公民近用」(Public Access)媒體,一直是公共電視的核心價值,2007年4月,我們把這個理念落實於「PeoPo公民新聞平台」(www.peopo.org)。台灣的公民、團體利用PeoPo友善的平台,創新web2.0由下而上的媒體內容,透過公民對環境、議題的參與和監督,積極發聲,讓台灣的公民社會呈現更多元的對話平台。

Peopo公民平台目前有超過2,357位來自各地的公民記者,130個NGO/NPO/EDU組織,累積報導則數超過20,455篇,其中有7,850篇的原創影音,充滿議題性與公民觀點。自服務開始推出以來,每月平均到站人數有27萬人,每月平均瀏覽頁次達到179萬頁。

2008年,PeoPo公民新聞平台的內容,較推出初期愈顯成熟,受到國內外媒體機構的研究與關注,以及實際引用。以公廣新聞頻道為例,累積引用新聞則數,已超過256則。再者,國內的社團組織,如「媒體觀察基金會-行動影音資料庫」、「社區營造學會」、「社區大學」等,在認同PeoPo新聞平台的理念之後,主動做議題串連,發揮草根媒體、公民社會的影響力。

PeoPo深化了台灣民主社會的發展,「2008年總統大選電視辯論會公民提問」活動,就以PeoPo為平台,由公視、中央社、蘋果日報、自由時報、中國時報、聯合報合作舉辦,邀請公民提問上傳到PeoPo平台,甚至安排公民進入候選人電視辯論會直接詢答,是台灣直接民主的一大進步。

這次選舉,公民不再只是被動投票,而是主動發聲,要求候選人回應公民的心聲。這次的活動中,每位公民就利用了相機、攝影機或手機,將要詢問總統候選人的問題,拍攝成三十秒內的影音,再上傳至PeoPo平台,直接詢問候選人治國主張。  

主辦單位在累積的456則公民影音提問中,選出了20則問題。這20位公民於辯論會前一天,接受主辦單位的追問技巧訓練,掌握發言時間,並且熟悉攝影棚轉播作業,在辯論會場上,針對候選人的回答,立即進行現場追問。公民以影片上傳提問,讓台灣不僅走在國際先端,更突破性地於總統大選電視辯論中,邀請公民以網路影音向候選人提問,開創網路和民意結合的無限可能。

PeoPo除了提供網路平台外,更提供許多實體的活動與服務。如今年四月,舉辦「2008PeoPo公民新聞論壇」,七月舉辦公民記者聚會。暑假期間,舉辦「大專公民新聞實習營」,接下來在台灣北、中、南、東部,共10所大學成立「公民新聞校園採訪中心」,鼓勵同學走出校園關心社區,報導地方公共議題,與台灣各地民眾接軌,也讓大家看見地區觀點,聽到在地的聲音。在提供專業課程與培訓。12月,PeoPo與卓越新聞獎基金會共同舉辦「PeoPo公民新聞獎」,鼓勵2008年優秀的作品,並彼此期勉繼續發揮PeoPo平台的影響力,回饋台灣公民社會。

公視不僅提供PeoPo平台的網路技術與設備,更提供PeoPo公民記者觀摩與學習的機會。我們透過超過183場的教育推廣訓練、面對面教學,培養公民獨立思考及自由創作的能力,將公視的人力資源與媒體經驗,結合社團組織,是公共電視對公眾服務的重要實踐。

PeoPo是台灣公共媒體聚焦在公民新聞的新媒體應用,在國際上相關案例也很罕見,發展至今,台灣「PeoPo」也成為國際媒體組織詢問度最高的台灣媒體經驗。如CBA大英國協電視年會、PBI世界公視年會、聯合國教科文組織、日本NHK、IIC國際廣播電視組織等,都主動來函邀請公共電視前往交流研討台灣公民新聞的經驗。2008 PBI 年會,總經理親赴法國與會,法國媒體普羅旺斯年報即撰文報導公視在公民新聞的發展,打開了PeoPo國際知名度。97年底,PeoPo入圍「NHK日本賞」,更榮獲台灣「網際營活獎」首獎的殊榮,這都是所有公民記者努力的成果。

PeoPo是公視發展的新里程,也是核心的服務項目之一。相較於電視節目製作,PeoPo以較少的經費,達到了更大的公共服務價值。期許PeoPo達成成為華文公民新聞的第一品牌、成為台灣最豐富的地方議題影音公民新聞中心、成為國際公民新聞發展與觀摩的標竿,是我們共同努力達成的願景。