2013 Recognition from the 2013 Social Utility Award
2012 Newly Revised Service Upgrade
2011 Yields Steady Progress in Building Civic Community
2010 Obtaining International Recognition -A bumper year for expanding new services
2009 Protecting Communities through the Lens
2008 Voicing Out and Building Bridges
2007 The Rise of New Mass Movements in Turbulent Times


Obtaining International Recognition
Citizen journalism, public service broadcasting and crisis reporting in Taiwan
Citizen journalism and trust in Taiwan
BBC World News Ex-director Phil Harding Visited Taiwan
Catching Spotlight at International Press Institute's World Congress 2011
   

Continuing to Promote Citizen Journalism PeoPo Establishes Citizen Journalism Self-regulatory Committee

In 2016, the PeoPo platform (www.peopo.org) continued to forge closer links between civic groups through the use of emerging Internet technologies, Internet programs, and various types of events. Over the past 9 years, the platform has amassed 9182 citizen journalists and produced over 110,000 reports, an impressive display of civic power in Taiwan.

 PeoPo Website

Clearer News Through HD Video Online

This year, PeoPo implemented high-quality comprehensive support for HD video upload and playback, ensuring audiences see clearer and that video content is more faithfully presented. In order to support the requirements of HD video uploads, relax file-upload restrictions, and encourage users to provide better video, the system now automatically provides SD and HD format options, thereby meeting the varying needs of users.

HD Media Broadcast

 

Strengthening User Code of Ethics and Establishment of Self-regulatory Committee

Following a controversial event in June 2016, the platform has endeavored to keep pace with changes in the digital environment and better handle the day-to-day practicalities of operating the platform. To this end, PTS referred to the latest legal provisions and convened two citizen journalism consultation meetings, amending ‘PeoPo Citizen Journalism Platform Regulations for Users’ and the platform’s ‘Code of Ethics for Users’. The newly amended provisions will facilitate a smoother running of platform operations and also provide users with a clearer understanding on presenting material.¬†

At the same time, the Citizen Journalism Self-regulatory Committee was established to target possible violations of the platform’s user regulations or code of ethics. Convening quarterly meetings and providing recommendations on dealing with any issues that arise, the committee’s creation is an important step in ensuring that operating the PeoPo Citizen Journalism Platform proceeds smoothly and on track.

By strengthening and improving PeoPo’s operational mechanism, PTS has safeguarded the principle of independent governance and the continued promotion of citizen journalism, providing a more diverse platform for dialogue in Taiwan’s civil society.

2016
成立自律委員會
2015
深化公民報導議題
2014
強化社群媒體串聯
2013
獲得社會公器獎肯定
2012
全新改版 服務升級
2011
穩健發展 打造公民社群
2010
獲國際肯定 擴大新服務
2009
用鏡頭守護家園
2008
向外發聲 地方紮根
2007
風起雲湧的新群眾運動
   
國外的肯定
台灣的公民新聞、公共服務廣電(PSB)以及危機報導
英媒Public Media Alliance專題介紹PeoPo
前英國BBC全球新聞總監 高度讚許
國際新聞協會年會-PeoPo受矚目
平台定位
帳號申請/社群共治
使用元素/網頁介紹
   
延伸閱讀

2016 成立自律委員會


PeoPo網頁

持續推動公民新聞,成立自律委員會

2016年,PeoPo平台(www.peopo.org)持續以新興網路科技、網路節目、多元聚會活動等形式,讓公民社群之間的連結更為緊密。9年來,累積9182位公民記者,製作超過11萬則公民報導,這都是台灣公民力量的展現。

把新聞看得更清楚,HD影音上線

高畫質影音播放

2015年今年,PeoPo更提服務品質,全面支援HD高畫質影音上傳與播放,讓觀眾可以看得更清楚,忠實呈現報導者的拍攝的影音內容。為了支援HD高畫質影音上傳的需求,放寬上傳檔案相關限制,鼓勵使用者提供更好的影片,系統也會自動提供SD與HD兩種格式,服務不同使用環境的觀眾

強化使用者公約與自律規範

2016年6月「素素事件」後,為了符合數位環境的變遷,與平台運作的實際情況,公視參考最新的法律條文,並舉辦的兩次公民新聞諮詢會,修訂「PeoPo公民新聞平台使用規範」與「PeoPo公民新聞平台使用者自律公約」。新修訂的條文將有助於平台運作,也能讓使用者更清楚的了解相關應遵守事項。

同時,成立自律委員會,針對平台上有可能違反公約或規範的報導進行討論,並提供平台建議處理方式,每季定期開會討論相關議題,以期讓公民新聞平台運作更上軌道。

公視將確保PeoPo的機制更健全完善,維護獨立自主的治理原則,持續推動公民新聞,讓台灣的公民社會呈現更多元的對話平台。