2013 Recognition from the 2013 Social Utility Award
2012 Newly Revised Service Upgrade
2011 Yields Steady Progress in Building Civic Community
2010 Obtaining International Recognition -A bumper year for expanding new services
2009 Protecting Communities through the Lens
2008 Voicing Out and Building Bridges
2007 The Rise of New Mass Movements in Turbulent Times


Obtaining International Recognition
Citizen journalism, public service broadcasting and crisis reporting in Taiwan
Citizen journalism and trust in Taiwan
BBC World News Ex-director Phil Harding Visited Taiwan
Catching Spotlight at International Press Institute's World Congress 2011
   

The Rise of New Mass Movements in Turbulent Times
(PeoPo established in 2007)

There is no doubt that a new tool available to man is fundamentally changing our future; this ‘tool’ is no other than the Internet.

 It is undisputable that there are differing views regarding the true value of the Internet, but most would agree that it has created a completely new way of addressing democratic issues from individuals and society, people and communities.

Throughout the ages, the challenge of democratic societies has been how to integrate individual differences of opinion into an operationally feasible collective consensus? Just how do we retain the individual's independent space in the operational structure of society as a whole?

 With regards to the current democratic mechanism, there exist numerous media bodies and experts providing information based on the understanding of individual decision-making and judgments. Individuals also have the inalienable right to vote, electing representatives and government officials who pledge to manage government affairs by the will of the people. However, the undeniable fact is that under the huge shadow of society, these individuals often not only fail to represent the voice of the masses, but fall into serfdom, as the puppets of a select few.

 The renowned American social writer Eric Hoffer pointed out that all mass movements “demand blind faith and single hearted allegiance”, and that while differing in their doctrines, they all “draw their early adherents from the same types of humanity, and appeal to the same types of mind.” The rise of the Internet has clearly had both a positive and negative impact on human society, but its influence in giving a fundamentally new meaning to mass movements is beyond the shadow of a doubt.

 There is a world of difference between today’s mass movements and those of former times, no longer demanding collective blind obedience, but rather, seeking to tap into the innate wisdom of the people; no longer a homogeneous polymerization, but rather, stressing heterogeneous participation. In short, the positive value of the Internet and its contribution to democracy is immeasurable, that is to say, through participation and sharing on the Internet, individuals are constructing a new fully autonomous grassroots civil society. The establishment of PeoPo is a wonderful example of this new style of mass movement.
As Taiwan’s first comprehensive citizen journalism news platform, PeoPo is:



We are all fully aware that human society cannot exist as a perfect utopia. However, nearly everyone believes that through openness, participation, sharing, and action, human beings can move closer to a heaven on Earth. The duty of public media is the pursuit of a mature civil society, and perhaps the establishment of the PeoPo platform is a significant step towards everyone’s dream of a perfect utopia. So just what are all you all waiting for!

2016
成立自律委員會
2015
深化公民報導議題
2014
強化社群媒體串聯
2013
獲得社會公器獎肯定
2012
全新改版 服務升級
2011
穩健發展 打造公民社群
2010
獲國際肯定 擴大新服務
2009
用鏡頭守護家園
2008
向外發聲 地方紮根
2007
風起雲湧的新群眾運動
   
國外的肯定
台灣的公民新聞、公共服務廣電(PSB)以及危機報導
英媒Public Media Alliance專題介紹PeoPo
前英國BBC全球新聞總監 高度讚許
國際新聞協會年會-PeoPo受矚目
平台定位
帳號申請/社群共治
使用元素/網頁介紹
   
延伸閱讀

毫無疑問,人類正以嶄新的工具改變自己的未來。這個工具不是別的,正是網際網路。

網路的價值仁智互見,但多數人應可同意,網路為「個人與社會」、「個體與群體」之類的民主命題,開啟了全新的解決途徑。

民主社會的亙古難題是,如何將獨立個體的分歧意見整合為集體運作的可行共識?如何在整體社會的運作架構中保有獨立個體的自主空間?

以目前的民主機制而言,社會的確存在不計其數的媒體與專家,提供每個個體決策與判斷的資訊依據;個人也擁有不可剝奪的投票權利,選出為自己操持政務的民意代表、政府官員。但不爭的事實是,在社會的巨大身影下,個人形同侏儒,所謂的群體更往往只是少數人的化身。

著名的群眾運動研究者賀佛爾( Eric Hoffer )曾指出,所有的群眾運動都要求信徒盲從與效忠,而且都在同一類型的人群中吸收信徒。網際網路的興起雖然對人類社會產生正負兼俱的衝擊,但,可以確認的是,它正為人類社會啟動一場全新意義的群眾運動。

這場新的群眾運動與舊式群眾運動恰恰相反,它不塑造集體盲從,而是尋求群體智慧,它不訴諸同質聚合,而是強調異質參與。簡言之,網際網路無可限量的正面價值之一,也是它對民主意涵的鉅大貢獻,就是獨立的公民個體可以藉由網路的參與及分享,建構一個充分自主又富涵群力的新公民社會。 PeoPo 的成立,正是此種新群眾運動思維下的產物。

作為台灣第一個完整架構的影音公民新聞網, PeoPo 是:



我們深知,人類社會不可能存在完美的烏托邦;但我們亦深信,人類若能敞開心胸,參與、分享及行動,我們將更接近人間天堂。公共媒體本以追求成熟公民社會為職志,建構 PeoPo 平台,或許可以作為人類烏托邦之夢不死的新註腳。行動公民們,還猶豫什麼,上!